The Commissioner of Police and CEO Fire and Emergency Services is responsible for the licensing and regulation of firearms in the NT.

The details of all firearms and their owners are contained in the Firearms Registry in accordance with the Northern Territory Firearms Act. The Firearms Registry is not open to the public however, general information about firearm licencing and permits can be obtained from NT police station front counters, or from our publications. 

Visit Northern Territory Government Legislation for more information.


Opening hours

For COVID-19 safety, all firearms registration and licensing across the Greater Darwin and Palmerston areas have been centralised to the Palmerston Police Station, which is currently open restricted hours of Monday - Friday 8am to 4pm. 

    Firearms applications and enquiries are no longer accepted at the Darwin, Casuarina, Peter McAulay Centre or Humpty Doo police stations.

    Please note: processing licence and permit applications takes time, please ensure you attend the Palmerston Police Station with enough time for staff to complete your application by 4pm. ​​​​​​The following timings should also be considered if you are attending the station in the afternoon:

    • First time licence applications will not be commenced after 3pm. 
    • Renewal and purchase permit applications will be accepted up to 4pm.